indo para o Brasil! (going to Brazil!)

24 Feb

I just got accepted to my study abroad program in Brazil next fall! The theme is Amazon Resource Management and Human Ecology and it’s based out of Belém which is in the northern part of Brazil. Belém (Portuguese for “Bethlehem”), the capital of the state of Pará, was founded in 1616 and was the first European colony on the Amazon. While there I will be studying local environmental issues and completing a research project. Can’t wait.

Here’s a sneak peak:

6 Responses to “indo para o Brasil! (going to Brazil!)”

  1. Beth Ann Locke February 24, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    So great! Looks wonderful. I hope I can visit. Are those ibis? (Ibes?)

    • Lorraine February 24, 2011 at 9:32 am #

      I’m not sure what they are… but there were surprisingly few well-taken photos of Belém out there so my options were pretty limited.

  2. Alexa February 24, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    THIS IS SO EXCITING! Yayay I’m super pumped for you!
    Have you figured out how long you’re staying yet?

    • Lorraine February 24, 2011 at 9:32 am #

      No I haven’t heard about the scholarship yet. Did you have to get a visa? I can’t believe how expensive they are! PS You should do a blog post about what you packed and whether you packed anything that was like “duh i don’t need this” or if you are kicking yourself because you didn’t bring something. I’m really curious! I love your blog, esp. the pictures.

  3. Casey February 24, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Wow, that’s incredible! Enjoy the trip…and the topic!

    • Lorraine February 28, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

