we heart heirlooms…

17 Sep

…and not the kind in your grandma’s closet.

On my most recent trip to the farmers market I picked up some gorgeous heirloom tomatoes (need to stock on homemade tomato sauce… recipe coming soon).

tomatoes

And something new to me, heirloom apples.

My dad asked if they were related to heirloom tomatoes, so let me define “heirloom” first:

an heirloom plant is a cultivar that was commonly grown during earlier periods in human history, but which is not used in modern large-scale agriculture. (Wikipedia)

They come in all your grocery store varieties (red delicious, golden delicious, fuji, etc.) but not only are they grown from  less genetically-modified strains, but they are also grown more like apples used to be; unlike conventional apples which are picked prematurely so they will be ripe by the time they get to the grocery store, these ripen on the tree allowing their sugars to fully develop. They also aren’t treated with fungicides and chemicals which gives them a dirty, mottled appearance, but whats inside is amazing.

Also got some radishes, my new favorite vegetable

(This one reminds me of a Pacman ghost.)

Radish

And some giant beets. Which soon found themselves roasting in the oven.

Roasted beets

And finally, thanks to my mom for sending me all my cookbooks!

Leave a Reply

