we heart… reality tv?

7 Aug

When I first heard about Bravo’s new show, “Work of Art: The Next Great Artist,” basically a Project Runway/Top Chef style show but with artists, I was HIGHLY skeptical. And I still am, sort of. But I watched my second episode tonight and it sort of changed my mind, the two times I’ve watched this show, I’ve seen some great art coming out of it. In the first episode I watched the inspiration was “childhood” and one of the contestants created a sculpture of drugs, candy, cigarettes, and a paper-mâché My Little Pony to show the pervasive drug use in her San Francisco childhood, and in the most recent one an artists made this really haunting charcoal self-portrait that I loved. Interestingly, both of my favorite works won their respective challenges. So even though I’m still not okay with the idea of trying to objectively judge art, I think I’m going to tune in for the finale next Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

